3 new active geological faults identified in Taiwan, bringing total to 36

Three new active geological faults have been identified in central and southern Taiwan, the Central Geological Survey of the Ministry of Economic Affairs announced yesterday, January 4. The Chuxiang Fault, Kouxiaoli Fault and Chegualin Fault, are located in Nantou County, Tainan City, and Kaohsiung City, and bring the total number of active fault lines identified in Taiwan to 36, the CGS said. The definition of “active faults,” according to the CGS, are “faults that have been active since the late

Read more